I’m embarrassed to tell coworkers what my husband does for a living

I have been in management for the past few years and newly promoted into a VP role. It’s a long way from where I started as a receptionist, and I’m proud of how far I’ve come. My husband works in facilities at a school – a janitor. They are unionized, so the wages and benefits are great – he’s been with them for over 15 years, and is stable and will retire with a full pension. All these are great and our marriage is wonderful. The only issue is that when coworkers ask me what my husband does, I’m not quite sure how to respond. He is the greatest person I’ve ever met, and I know that the first impression of his job title isn’t a good one.

To put this question into perspective…do you think a man would have any problem with telling his coworkers that his wife was a stay at home parent? Or that she had a part-time job? Congrats on your new role. But don’t let it get to your head. At the end of the day, this is the person you married, and he married you, not your job title. Your job as partners is to love and back each other – if you feel shame because of what you believe the perception of his role is, take a step back and re-evaluate. If you didn’t have your current job, what would be left that are constant and positive in your life?

I’m embarrassed to tell coworkers what my husband does for a living

Leave a Reply

